foodstuff 7: sorbet


A few days ago I found myself craving some ice cream. UNFORTUNATELY, we were all out in the house so I decided to take matters into my own hands. The last time I tried to make my own ice cream, it was nothing short of disastrous, so I elected to make something that was more within my realm: sorbet! Now, I wasn’t going off of any recipe because I figured, how hard could it be? Turns out it’s super simple and really quick! I really can’t wait to make it again and try all sorts of different ingredient combinations.

DSC_0566

Ingredients (these are all very approximate, as I was just tossing things into the Magic Bullet with abandon. Anybody who knows me well enough will know that I rarely follow recipes, as I’m really good at eyeballing things and just taking things as they come.):

  • 1.5c frozen raspberries
  • .5c frozen peaches
  • 3-4 ice cubes
  • 2c orange juice (You can adjust the quantity, depending on how thick or thin you want it to be. Additionally, another liquid can be used here — I’d like to try coconut water next.)
  • 1tsp vanilla extract

Throw it all into a blender and enjoy! This made about 2-3 servings, but if I had my way, I’d’ve eaten it all myself! It was SO GOOD. Another thing I’d like to try with this recipe is to add a squeeze of lime juice to make it a touch more tart.

Leave a Reply

